Chronicles of Quitting Cereal

Hello Friends,

I have created this page as a way to track my journey throughout my second 24-day challenge through Advocare. I had fantastics results my first go around that I decided to try it again. I tracked my first challenge at the following link. Training to Transform

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 8.54.50 PM

10 pounds gone, 5.5 inches off my waist, 4 inches off each my thighs, 2.5 off my hips, and 2 inches off each of my arms!

My goals during this challenge is geared more towards losing body fat and slimming down. I am days away from completing my second year of teaching. I taught AP Biology this year, and my body paid the price. Between learning new topics, grading papers, planning lessons, setting up labs, and becoming a last minute Varsity softball coach, my personal wellbeing fell to the wayside. The past year has been all about survival. Keeping my head above water was my mantra, but that is literally what I was trying to do.

I am one that likes to feel in control. I have lost control, and my goal is to gain it back. I am guilty of eating when I am stressed. The scientist inside of me understands what is happening when you eat for comfort, yet it hasn’t stopped me. For so long, I have looked at food as comfort,an award, and overall stress relief. My goal is to look at food as the nourishment my body needs.

For months, I have been saying I’ll start eating healthy and working out  after the weekend. I treated this lifestyle change as if it was torture, so I haven’t done anything to change my ways. Not being able to fit into my wedding dress has been the biggest wake-up call. If I don’t lose this weight, I will have to purchase ANOTHER dress. I know I shouldn’t let a dress define how I feel about myself. It is not the dress. It is the reality of not making myself a priority. I am one to put others ahead of myself. Teachers in my county get paid for 35 hours of work. I work roughly 60-75 hours a week. I am mentally exhausted after a 16-17 hour day. My body simply wants to find rest. It wants a quick meal, so it can fall asleep as soon as possible. Finding balance in the midst of chaos has been challenging. Now that I have my first year of AP Biology under my belt, I am looking to make changes in my lifestyle.

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 8.57.16 PM

My first priority is strengthening my relationship with the Lord. I am working towards leaning on the Lord and his word during times of trouble. Realizing that I do not have to carry the load all by myself and that it is okay to ask for help has been life changing for me. Each day I am becoming stronger and stronger in my faith, and it has helped me tremendously in the decision transform my lifestyle.

  • Matthew 11:28-30

    28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

My second priority is my health. At a recent wellness visit, the nurse went through my bloodwork. A couple categories were out of normal range. This was yet another wake up call. My family has a family history of heart disease,  high blood pressure, and obesity. I do not want to be another statistic. I want to treat my body like a temple as described in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20. I have dreams of becoming a mother. I want to take care of myself, so I can be the best  I can be for my children. I want to be around when my children have children. I want to be around to spend many many years with my future husband.

  • 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

    19 Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 8.59.01 PM

This semester we read a book called 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. One of the habits stuck with me. It refers to “sharpening the saw.” It is described as making sure you are taking care of yourself. You cannot pour from an empty cup.  I became a teacher so I could spread my love for learning and help others in different aspects of their lives. I have come to realize that I cannot do those things if I do not take care of myself first.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 8.52.17 PM

 

I look forward to sharing my journey with you and being able to go back and watch myself transform.

 

 

Leave a Reply

